In My Kitchen 4/13/2011

“In My Kitchen” is my way to give a quick pictorial tour of some in-the-moment happenings in my kitchen, without a lot of text – just some pictures with brief captions. I’m hoping to do an “In My Kitchen” post every week or so, or as I’m inspired. We’ll see ;-).

My cute little helper.

Kombucha fermenting on the fridge top. I have no idea why this pic won’t turn the right way!

Walnuts and almonds dehydrating on the counter. I soak them in water + sea salt overnight, then dehydrate them for ~24 hours. Much more digestible!

Beet kvass! Day 1 of a 2-3 day ferment.

The makings of supper. Frozen meatballs + tomato paste (with water and spices) + spaghetti squash = GAPS pasta night ;-).

Raw milk yogurt incubating. (The water is for warmth; the yogurt is in the covered jars under the towel.)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah Garrison
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 16:13:46

    WELL now!

    See, does this not confirm our purpose and foreshadow the great things to come?

    Can you guess what’s on MY counter? (er, mom and dad’s rather 😉 ) A spaghetti squash, about to go in the oven; the sauce is simmering on the stove, and 5 lb of meat is in my fridge ready to be made into meatballs.

    Sororal minds think alike.

    I like your idea of “In my kitchen” posts. Especially if they include glimpses of my niece and nephew. 😀

    Reply

    • susanegk
      Apr 13, 2011 @ 16:32:53

      You can do “In My Kitchen” posts too, if you want :-). Basically, it’s my way of actually getting posts done, instead of always putting off a post until “later”. . . not that I plan on all my posts being so un-verbose, but it’s a nice option.

      Reply

  2. micandme
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 16:21:18

    So glad to see you’ve got your blog going. Love the name! 🙂 ~Michelle

    Reply

  3. Kacie
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 17:02:22

    Pretty sure I don’t know what several of those things are. Looking forward to you explaining more as you go!

    If you looked in my kitchen right now, you’d see a pot of great northern beans cooking. When the beans are done, I’ll use them to make white chicken chili for dinner tonight.

    Reply

  4. susanegk
    Apr 13, 2011 @ 17:04:23

    Yum! I love chili :-). I haven’t made white chili in a while, but it’s a nice switch from standard red.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

