A tribute to buttered muffin pans. . .

Aren’t those lovely pans? They’re lovely to me because I took this picture after making muffins and before soaking/washing/scrubbing them. I just popped the muffins out of the pan and look how clean they are! Muffin pans do *not* have to be a pain to clean, even if not using muffin cups :-). My muffins pop out so easily when I butter them well, almost without exception. I find that non-stick sprays don’t work as well and tend to gum up the pan over time, but butter works wonderfully! I even have some stainless steel (non-nonstick – not pictured) that work just as well without sticking.

So if you’re frustrated with cleaning muffin pans, give butter a try! I also find that the very slight residue left after baking is easily washed away best if done right away, so I try to wash my pans as soon as I can, if possible.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hannahpi
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 07:00:58

    NOW you share this… where was this post last week when I had muffin pans that were a PAIN to clean????
    Well, at least you’re on time for my batch of muffins this week. šŸ™‚ I really hope it works.

    Reply

  2. susanegk
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 07:05:18

    šŸ™‚ Seriously, I have been SO much happier with muffin pans since buttering. Yes, it takes longer up-front to prepare the pans, but the muffins slide out beautifully!

    Reply

  3. meg garrison
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 07:10:59

    *makes mental note*

    Reply

  4. hannahpi
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 07:12:16

    So, how buttered is “well”-buttered?

    Reply

  5. Ashley
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 10:25:30

    Buttered muffin pans make me think of a friend I had when I was in elementary school. She had a really strong personality, and being the person I was I let her walk all over me. We would cook together, and she *hated* buttering the pans, so she would make me do it, even though I didn’t like getting my fingers dirty. šŸ™‚

    Reply

  6. susanegk
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 13:51:33

    Hannah, oh. . . think really light coating, but still a coating. The first time I tried I basically just ended up with a shiny, greasy pan, but there wasn’t any coating left besides the bare minimum. . . didn’t work well. It’s not like you need gobs, just think light glaze.

    Ha, you should have stood up to your friend, Ashley! And. . . dare I ask *how* you know about our new blog if you’re not on Facebook. . . ? šŸ˜‰

    Reply

    • meg garrison
      Apr 18, 2011 @ 14:46:38

      Ashley and Savannah stopped by to see us a couple of days ago. šŸ™‚ Hannah mentioned it to her and I sent her the link.

      Reply

  7. susanegk
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 14:51:59

    Ha. Gotcha. I’d been meaning to e-mail her, but hadn’t gotten around to it :-). So I was wondering. . . and I’m jealous! I want to see Ashley and Savannah!

    Reply

  8. Hannah Garrison
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 15:19:17

    I get to see them almost everyone week at church!! šŸ˜€ Be more jealous!

    Reply

  9. susanegk
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 16:06:17

    šŸ˜›

    Reply

  10. Ashley
    Apr 18, 2011 @ 21:23:13

    Susan’s thinking, “Shoot! She found out about the blog!” šŸ˜‰

    And I feel very lucky that I get to see Hannah every Sunday too. šŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

