Against the Grain e-cookbook

I’ve been waiting for this book to release :-). It’s Kate Tietje’s newest e-cookbook. 30 grain-free recipes, the vast majority of them (27, I think) are GAPS appropriate. I’m already loving my copy! I snagged one early yesterday for the 40% off deal, but through the end of Tuesday (April 19th) you can still get one for 30% off, using the code found here.

I printed off my copy yesterday morning and tried out two of the recipes in the afternoon. Banana pancakes were tasty and just plain cute (silver dollar size) and a great way to whip up some quick pancakes and use up bananas in the process. I also made the “chocolate chip bread” recipe, except using raisins instead of chocolate chips. So it was really raisin almond flour bread. But it was scrumptious! We all really enjoyed the treat. Adrian thought it was reminiscent of cake and “one of the best GAPS foods he’s had”. . . and he has been loving plenty of our GAPS foods, so that’s high praise!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hannahpi
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 07:08:23

    Oh the bread!…
    I’m ordering mine today! (If I remember :/ Feel free to remind me. 🙂 )

    Reply

  2. Catherine Mikkola
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 08:35:29

    OK, you’ve got me curious. I know that the GAPS diet has something to do with helping the intestines to heal. I’m guessing you’re following that?? Is it helping? What foods are you supposed to avoid? Do you ever get so you can eat those foods again w/out issues?

    Reply

  3. susanegk
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 19:03:52

    Yes, I’m following the GAPS diet, Catherine. I started back middle of January. The diet was pioneered by a British medical doctor for treatment of autistic children, but has more general application to intestinal healing. It is based on the Specific Carbohydrate Diet (which you might have heard of – it was introduced middle-ish of the last century for treatment of colitis, Crohn’s, and celiac’s), but is more full-orbed, in my opinion, because of the focus of probiotics and bone broths and animal fats for healing. But most of the “no’s” and “yeses” are the same. Here is a break-down of food on the diet: http://www.gapsdiet.com/The_Diet.html

    The diet is helping me a lot. It remains to be seen if my issues will totally clear. I have the equivalent of food-linked eczema, that flares up when I eat certain foods (dairy, grains, etc.), as well as some digestive upsets. The digestive upsets have improved majorly on the diet, the eczema has at least stopped growing (it was rapidly growing when I went on the diet!), but not disappeared :-P. I had similar issues a few years ago (both episodes triggered by antibiotics, best I can tell), and it took several months of a careful diet and supplementation (probiotics) before I could eat “normal” again, so I wasn’t expecting a miracle cure. The typical suggestion for GAPS for serious digestive/cognitive issues is 2 years. My issues aren’t that extensive, so I’m hoping to stay on the diet for more like 1 year. But yes, some people to experience a full recovery from diseases like celiac’s by doing the GAPS diet for a few years.

    Reply

  4. Catherine Mikkola
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 21:32:35

    Thanks for the info, Susan!! I will give this a serious look-over. I’ve been gluten-free for several years which has improved my digestion – but it’s still not 100% and I still get migraines. I’m glad this is helping you!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

