In My Kitchen 4/19/2011

Eager to dig into this book that came in the mail today. I ❤ books on food and cooking :-).

Sister Dear is living vicariously through me this week. I have a dehydrator and she doesn’t, so she sent me this recipe to try. This is definitely a bit unusual. They should be done tomorrow morning. . . interested to see if they’re good.

After using a few cups for the above “cookies” I baked up the rest of the squash I had to freeze in 2-cup portions. I use a lot of squash on GAPS, and butternut is my favorite :-).

And the seeds from the squash get soaked overnight and will be dehydrated tomorrow.

Meanwhile. . . the dirty dishes are fast piling up. . .

And chicken broth is simmering in the crockpot. I like to cook my broth into obliteration – 24 hours or so. I start it stovetop and then move it to the crockpot after it comes to a boil. I also make it strong. Yay for condensed freezer storage :-).

And dishes are done and the squash is out and cooling before scooping and freezing. I don’t dry and put away my dishes right away. I believe in celestial drying. Isn’t that what evaporation was created for?

Beef. It’s what’s for dinner. Bun-less hamburgers. Mmmmm. With homemade ketchup (recipe courtesy of Internal Bliss), who would miss the bun? And I made some sort of a cauliflower mash and also some spinach.  And yep, the first picture has broccoli, and the second picture (the actual cooking meal) has spinach. This is my life. I make a lot of last-minute changes ;-).

So that was my day in the kitchen. How was yours?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jessicatelian
    Apr 19, 2011 @ 23:15:43

    Oooh…trying not to be jealous of your new book! “The Flavor Thesaurus” has been on my Wishlist ever since I saw it in a local bookstore…definitely let me know how it is. 🙂

    Reply

  2. susanegk
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 06:35:41

    I know, I saw it on your wishlist! I stalk other people’s lists for ideas ;-). You were my inspiration :-). I got it with some birthday money. I will definitely let you know how it is!

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 06:42:06

    How cool!!! A cooking blog with your sister!!!! I can’t wait to see what foods you cook up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

