Creamy Chicken Soup

Mmmm. Many thanks to Donielle for the idea to cream the cauliflower to make the base. This was a lovely soup. It was nice to have a soup with a bit of a thicker consistency, as I can’t use grains or arrowroot or any other standard thickeners right now. I took her recipe and tweaked it a bit. Here was the result:

Creamy Chicken Soup

Ingredients:

1/2 medium onion, chopped
1 clove garlic, minced
3 tablespoons butter (coconut oil for dairy-free option)
5-6 cups chicken broth
1 head of cauliflower, chopped
3-4 carrots, peeled and sliced thinly
2 cups chopped broccoli (I used frozen)
1 cup frozen spinach
salt and pepper to taste (I used 1/2 T of salt, but my broth was unsalted)
2 cups cooked cubed chicken

Saute onion and garlic in butter. Add broth and cauliflower; bring to boil and simmer until cauliflower is tender, 10 minutes or so. Use a stick blender (greatest kitchen accessory ever!) to blend the broth and cauliflower mixture until smooth. You can technically use a blender instead of a stick blender, but it is SO much easier with a stick blender.

Add carrots and broccoli to soup pot with the blended broth base. Bring to a low boil and then simmer, stirring often to prevent sticking. Β After giving the carrots and broccoli 5-10 minutes of a “head start”, add the spinach and seasonings and simmer until all is cooked and tender.

And one last picture – of my adorable helper :-).

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah Garrison
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 15:37:53

    OH. MY.

    That looks really amazing.

    Too bad I just made two soups. That one is definitely next.

    Reply

  2. Hannah Garrison
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 15:39:21

    And your helper looks pretty cute, too, I must say. πŸ™‚ My helper may not be as chubby-wubby, but she IS more helpful. Ha!

    Reply

    • meg garrison
      Apr 26, 2011 @ 16:23:08

      Hehe. I just now saw your comments, Hannah. πŸ™‚ Made me chuckle.

      And, Susan — I just now saw the frozen broccoli part. I had quickly looked at the recipe before going to the store, and I didn’t notice the ‘frozen’ part. :-/ So I now have lots of fresh broccoli for this because I’ll probably double it since Hannah wants me to leave her some and not take it all to NC. πŸ™‚ It should work, yes?

      Reply

  3. susanegk
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 17:10:02

    Broccoli of any sort :-).

    Reply

  4. meg garrison
    Apr 28, 2011 @ 11:05:06

    And I’m going to assume we add the chicken at the end, not just leave it sitting on the counter. πŸ˜‰
    It sure is smelling wonderful right now. πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

