Tribute to Silicone Muffin Cups

Today, I put Susan’s “tribute to buttering muffin pans” to the test!

I baked up:
-another breakfast egg muffin batch, similar to before
-Sister Dear’s blueberry banana muffins from last week

For baking, I used:
-buttered muffin tins
-paper muffin cups
-buttered silicone muffin cups
-unbuttered silicone muffin cups

Buttered muffin tins:

AARGH!

Maybe it’s because our muffin tins are old?  Still was just about as bad as last week.  NEVER AGAIN.  (I think I said that before?  This time I mean not to listen to Sister’s Dear’s crafty butter soliloquies.)

Can I just take a break from talking about anything related to food to express how impressed I am that Mother Dear knew off the bat how to spell “soliloquy”?  I never would have guessed that way.  I, eh *sheepish* don’t really even want to admit how I would have spelled it, if forced…

Paper muffin cups:

Stuck!

Shriveled up egg muffin! Hm...

Stuck horribly for the egg muffins.  Not much better for the bread.

Buttered OR unbuttered silicone muffin cups:

Think back to being a kid at a playground.  You know the feeling of sliding down a slide full-speed, zooming down, no sand or dirt or rough spots?  It’s just zooooOOOMMMM!!!!!  Like lighting!   And smooth as silk!  That was exactly what came to mind while sliding my muffins out of the silicone muffin cups.

Yes, I'm kissing it.

Please do not tell me that silicone is harmful to one’s health.   Please don’t give me reasons why I should NOT use my new-found ONLY preferred method of making muffins.  Many, many thanks to my aunt Janet who gifted them to me for Christmas!

Another bonus about silicone muffin cups?  They save space in the oven!  I was able to fit MORE than 2 dozen muffins on one oven level.  😀  By stacking!

Stacked!

Ingredients for these breakfast egg muffins:  eggs, spinach, homemade turkey sausage & onions, bleu cheese from the Farmer’s Market (OH YUM!), salt and pepper.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. susanegk
    Apr 20, 2011 @ 21:12:53

    This post has your personality smeared all over it. Love it!

    And the pans need to go. Seriously. Buy Mom some new ones for her birthday. “Non-stick” pans that are past their prime are horrible :-P. And I can’t vouch for the butter trick even on new pans, with an egg muffin, though I imagine it would work pretty well. All I know is how wonderfully awesome it has been working for me on regular muffins. . . and I’ve been using that technique for a while. I had some “non-stick” muffin pans too that stuck to everything, and I finally tossed them. It was definitely the right choice!

    Reply

  2. mary zeglen
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 07:31:20

    hey girls! just found this blog and i love it!

    I recently came upon a recipe that I thought “Susan might be able to eat this! (or modify it so she can eat it?)” –

    Chicken Wrapped in Eggplant

    roll-ups:
    1 lb. chicken, diced
    1/4 (or less…?) olive oil
    1 tsp. garlic
    1 tsp. black pepper
    1 tsp. salt
    1 medium onion, diced
    1/2 tsp. hot crushed peppers
    2 whole eggplants, sliced lengthwise

    sauce:
    1 7 oz. can tomato sauce
    1 12 oz. can diced tomato
    1/2 cup (or less?) olive oil
    1 tbsp. garlic
    1 tbsp. black pepper
    1/2 cup diced onion

    Preheat oven to 375F. Brush eggplant slices with half of the olive oil. Place slices flat in a baking dish and bake until the eggplant turns golden brown. Meanwhile, pour the remaining olive oil into a small saute pan, and cook the chicken over medium-high heat for 5 minutes. Add the onion, garlic, pepper and seasoning and cook for 3 more minutes, or until the chicken is completely cooked through. Let mixture cool. Pile one tablespoon of the chicken mixture onto on slice of eggplant. Roll up eggplant and place seam-down in a baking dish. Repeat with all of the remaining slices. In a small pot, cook all ingredients for the suace together. Bring to a boil and let simmer for 20 minutes. Pour sauce on to o roll-ups. Bake at 375F for 15-20 minutes.

    It thought that recipe sounded pretty good, but I haven’t tried it so I don’t know;)

    Reply

  3. susanegk
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 14:53:30

    Mary, you have just completed a nearly-impossible task. You deserve a medal or some kind of reward. You found a recipe that is entirely composed of ingredients I can eat! And I haven’t done much with eggplant yet, so I have to try this! Thanks!

    Reply

  4. susanegk
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 15:16:25

    So Hannah, I just realized, did you use Parmesan again? Or another cheese? Or no cheese? Or yogurt? Spill the beans!

    Reply

  5. Hannah Garrison
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 16:41:05

    Mary, that looks really good! I love eggplant! I’ve been wanting to do more with them.

    Susan, I put all the ingredients that I used in my post.

    Reply

  6. susanegk
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 16:55:06

    Oh. I fail reading comprehension 101. I even looked back to check! Never mind. . .

    Reply

  7. susanegk
    Apr 21, 2011 @ 16:56:16

    Hannah, tell me if you make the eggplant dish first (or post on it!). I don’t think I’ll get to it until next week. So many other meals lined up :-). So let me know how/if/when you do it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

