Why not? 4-22-11

Afternoon wake-up-from-nap drink, all whirred up in a mug using my stick blender!:

+leftover whey from a couple weeks ago
+new excess whey from yogurt that just thawed from the freezer
+leftover coconut juice, from cutting up a fresh coconut a few days ago
+the rest of a banana I started eating last night
+cinnamon & a little honey

The whey especially needed to be used up.  The coconut juice as well, and I wanted to use it for something more than just drinking it plain.

Great way to use up some “leftovers/excesses” hanging around…  and delicious!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. susanegk
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 14:39:35

    Um. I’m glad you enjoyed. I really think I’m going to puke :-P. I should fix my bout of nausea by mixing up some Special Garlic Floaty Tea.

    Reply

  2. susanegk
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 14:40:02

    And yay for stick blenders :-).

    Reply

  3. hannahpi
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 14:41:44

    No, it really was REALLY good! Why don’t you think you would’ve liked it? I’m craving more right now.

    Reply

  4. susanegk
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 14:44:52

    Hmm. I guess it sounds like a lot of whey. But then reading back through, you didn’t specify how much (just that it was leftover twicely), so maybe it wasn’t overly done. I don’t know, it doesn’t sound as nauseating on second read, but I’m still not sure if I’d like it :-). You should have done measurements for an exact “recipe” if it was so good!

    Reply

  5. hannahpi
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 14:52:39

    Measuring for such a creation ruins the whole experience! My preferred method of creating in the kitchen will always be : withOUT measurements; however, I realize that measuring has its purpose and place. But when it’s not needed, it ain’t gonna happen. Here’s my “recipe”, just as it should be:

    whey to taste
    coconut juice to taste
    banana to taste
    cinnamon to taste
    honey to taste

    It’s all a matter of personal preference! Stick in just a tablespoon of whey and a half cup honey if that sounds good to you. 😉

    But if you think your tastes are similar to mine, here’s *approximately* what I did:
    1/3 c whey
    1/3 c coconut juice
    3/4 banana
    1 t cinnamon
    1 t honey

    Reply

  6. Sarah
    Apr 22, 2011 @ 17:57:06

    Totally agree with Susan, my stomach’s not doing to well. Gross!!!

    Reply

  7. mary zeglen
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 07:13:48

    ooh! if you had some pinnaple you could mix it in and it would be sorta pina-colada ish! i have smoothies all the time where it’s whey protien powder, and whatever fruit i find in the house:) i don’t usually use coconut juice, but that sounds really good!

    Reply

  8. hannahpi
    Apr 23, 2011 @ 08:21:08

    Mary, you read my mind! I almost threw in some frozen pineapple chunks from the freezer. I think I’ll do that next time. 🙂
    Sarah, ya need to try it!

    Although, I, uh, have to admit, the whey did end up hitting me I think. I had a very slight strange pucker-sensation in my mouth the rest of the day. Very slight. Possibly from the whey?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

