Deviled Eggs

Mmmm. I love deviled eggs. But I’m not a huge fan of what passes for “food” in the form of store-bought mayo. *gag* (I’ve never been a condiment person, even as a child. . . until I started experimenting with making my own.) Not to mention I probably couldn’t have any of the ingredients on the list right now. . . (When I’m off GAPS, my friends, feel free to feed me something containing mayo, and I will without hesitation consume it in gratitude of your hospitality; no worries. I’m just not a fan of it.)

So I was super-excited to see Kimi‘s post on deviled eggs last week! Brilliant, just skip the mayo and sub with similar ingredients. She points out that most traditional-food mayonnaise is made primarily of olive oil and egg yolk. Easy! Deviled egg filling already has yolk, so just add some olive oil, and voila!

Only potential hang-up. . . Husband Dear isn’t a huge fan of olive oil taste being front and center, and while he will try anything once (awesome man that he is), I wanted him to actually like them, not just tolerate them :-). So I decided I had to cut back on the olive oil and mask it with more mustard, and substitute some of its creaminess to get a similar texture. . . here are the results.

Additional notes:

  • Feel free to experiment with other fats besides palm shortening, but it was what I had on hand, and it is odorless and tasteless, which are nice attributes.
  • For the record, I used a store-bought spicy brown mustard that contained: “mustard seed, vinegar, turmeric, salt.” No msg, no “spices” (i.e., msg), no sugar, etc. I did have a homemade Dijon on hand, but I thought spicy brown would be milder.

Deviled Eggs

Makes 12 deviled egg halves

  • 6 eggs
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 2-3 teaspoons palm shortening
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon spicy brown mustard
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice (I used 1 1/2 T and it was a tad lemon-y – add water a few drops at a time to adjust texture, if needed)
  • 1/4 teaspoon pepper
  • paprika to sprinkle on top

Hard-boil the eggs: cover with water in a saucepan, bring to a boil, and simmer for 15-20 minutes over a low temperature. Drain hot water, replace with cool water, and let cool in refrigerator. Then proceed with recipe:

Peel eggs and cut each in half, to yield 12 halves. Remove egg yolks and place in a bowl with remaining ingredients (except paprika). Blend well. Kimi suggests a food processor, but I just used a fork, as I don’t mind a bit of texture :-). Spoon filling onto egg halves to fill, and sprinkle with paprika. Keep refrigerated.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hannahpi
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 11:37:20

    BAD recipe. You said “here are the results” with hardly a word on how they tasted, how they compare to regular deviled eggs! What’d you think? Hubby’s response? Guests’ response?

    Reply

  2. susanegk
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 12:20:21

    Well, if it was really terrible, or even just so-so, I would have posted ;-). Adrian thought they were quite good, and the olive oil not overwhelming. He does like “regular” deviled eggs a bit better, but it’s merely a comparison, and he would happily eat these again. I assume our guests liked them, as they weren’t puking (maybe they’re good at concealing gag reflexes). There was lots of food on Sunday, and I didn’t take notes on individual commentaries. I liked them a lot! Definitely a repeat recipe :-). The texture is similar, maybe slightly less creamy, and with just a hair of a stronger mustard taste.

    Reply

  3. Sarah
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 13:22:20

    they look absolutly delicious

    Reply

  4. Amy & Tony
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 21:47:38

    I have been on an egg salad rampage even prior to Easter (we did not color eggs since we have no kiddos at home). I love a little mustard in it too. For egg salad I add a very small amount of minced onion, dill weed and celery seed. I had some yesterday a la lettuce wraps. Yummy… And by the way, I sincerely doubt any guest in your home was stifling gag reflexes! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

