In My Kitchen 4/26/11

A note: although I hope it is inferred by my readers, “In My Kitchen” posts are not representative of an “average” day in my kitchen. Instead they are representative of an average busy (read: “once or twice a week”) day in my kitchen. So don’t think “Oh my goodness. She gets so much done each day.” Um, no. Yesterday supper got made. And it was a really easy supper. Today, lots more happened. That’s the way the (grain-free) cookie crumbles. . . Also, I’m on a restrictive diet, so naturally I’m going to be spending more time in the kitchen than the average person. 

1/2 gallon + 1 quart of beet kvass fermenting, 2 quarts + 1 – 1/2 pint fermenting. Both started yesterday. And my new set of half-gallon jars. *heart flutters* So excited about more jars! I’ve been getting by without, but it will be SO nice to have more.

Easter chicken broth. Cooked Sunday after picking the bird clean, cooled Monday in fridge, today (Tuesday) it gets divied up and frozen.


Trip to a local farm today to pick up a few items. Here is 7+ lbs. of beef bones for stock.


And 2 gallons of raw Jersey milk. Mmmm! 1 gallon for yogurt, one for drinking + kefir. I get kefir grains tomorrow! So excited!


And 3 dozen free-range eggs. Orange yolks, oh yeah! (Don’t count too closely; there are some store-bought egg cartons in there too. . . )


The makings of supper. 1/2 a shredded cabbage leftover from making sauerkraut the night before, frozen butternut squash, 6 cups of chicken broth, tomato paste, turkey sausage = cabbage soup


Never bought these before. But a lot of dressing recipes call for it, so I thought “Why not?” $1 for 12 fillets. . . sure. Now to get up the gumption to try them :-).


The beef bones boiling on the stove. And yes, they did boil over. And no, I didn’t get a picture. Too busy wiping up yucky water on the stovetop.


One of my helpers. (The other was strapped to my back.)


The beef broth transferred to the crockpot to cook until tomorrow.


Heating a gallon of raw milk to 110 degrees to make yogurt. And yes, I have heated it above 120 degrees before. *beats head against proverbial wall* As my sister-in-law said in consolation, “At least it was still unhomogenized.” Hehe. I watch the thermometer a bit closer now and don’t try to multi-task ;-). And I make yogurt during kiddo-nap-time.


I set walnuts and almonds to soak in salt water, so I can dehydrate them tomorrow.  I’m traveling this weekend and need GAPS-friendly easy-to-pack foods :-).


The yogurt in jars with starter added. Ready to add to the cooler to incubate for 24 hours.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erika
    Apr 26, 2011 @ 23:13:46

    I don’t think the fact that you are on a restrictive diet is the ONLY reason you spend more time in the kitchen than most. I’m sure that’s part of it… but another part is that you are you. I have been on pretty restrictive diets and somehow managed to still be pretty lazy about going in the kitchen. Granted my diet during those times was definitely not as balanced as it should have been. I tended to eat the same things most days. Tuna, raw fruits and veggies… and that’s about it.

    Reply

  2. Jessica
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 00:37:11

    I love these posts! And I can relate to the half-gallon jar heart flutter…my mom brought me some more last month (I can’t seem to find them around here) and I was so excited! 🙂

    A couple questions:

    – what is the second thing you have fermenting? It looks like sauerkraut, but I wasn’t sure…

    – and if you don’t mind me asking, how much do you pay per gallon for your raw milk there? We were looking to start getting raw milk soon, but it’s $8 a gallon here and we just can’t afford that right now… 😦 Maybe someday! 🙂 So I was just curious what the price was there…

    – and did you freeze your chicken broth in jars? That’s what it looks like in the picture, but maybe I’m wrong. How did that go? How full did you fill them? I think we talked about this before, but I want to find a non-plastic option for freezing broth, but I’ve had frozen jars break on me before so I’m wary of that. 😛

    Anyway…did I mention that I love these posts?! 🙂 And this blog…I’m so glad you and your sister decided to start it!

    Reply

  3. hannahpi
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 05:39:26

    Wait, so is the straight raw milk for just Hans? Not for you, right?

    Fun trip through your kitchen!

    Reply

  4. susanegk
    Apr 27, 2011 @ 07:03:07

    The straight raw milk is for Adrian and Hans.

    And that is true to an extent, Erika. Fair point . I guess, my whole point was “be yourself,” do what you feel you should, not what you feel I think you should.”

    Yep, that’s sauerkraut. I omitted that in my sentence . We pay $7.50 for raw milk here. Youch. I don’t know what we’ll do when I’m off the GAPS diet, but for now, I do think it’s worth it as I try to heal. It is pricey . And yes, I froze my broth in jars, but they’re plastic jars (reusing peanut butter jars). I’m still a bit skittish about using glass in the freezer.. . if you try it, tell me if it works!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

