Ranch Dressing


(prepped dressing on the left; the spice mix on the right)

I’m starting to add back in yogurt (again!), as my first dairy introduction other than butter. Italian dressing and guacamole, while nice, are getting a tad old in the dressing department, and I’ve been looking forward to dairy-based dressings :-). Most dressing recipes I found called for mayo or sour cream or onion flakes or various other ingredients I either can’t have or don’t have on hand. So I came up with this formula:

Ranch Dressing Mix

4 tbsp dried parsley

2 tsp garlic powder

2 tsp onion powder

1 tsp dried basil

1 tsp pepper

1 tsp salt

Combine all and store in a closed container indefinitely.

To make dressing, whisk 1 tbsp of mix with ½ cup of yogurt. Refrigerate in closed container.

Yield: approximately 6 tablespoons of mix, or 3 cups of dressing

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hannahpi
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 05:59:25

    If you don’t insult it by calling it “Ranch Dressing”, it sounds good! 😉 Not a ranch dressing fan, but that looks yummy. Have you added a little olive oil to it? I bet that’d be nice too.

    Reply

  2. Susan
    Apr 29, 2011 @ 21:02:17

    I like Ranch Dressing, so I don’t consider it an insult :). This tastes identical the Ranch Dressing spice mix have from Penzey’s, actually. I should get on Penzey’s site and compare ingredients to see. You can try olive oil and let me know, but I like it as is.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: In My Kitchen 5/10/11 « Sororal Adventures

Leave a Reply

