Easy White Fish Fillets

Mmmm. These were so easy and tasty. Adrian described them as a “burst of flavor,” I thought they were just plain yummy, and Hans devoured his first helping in about 0.2 seconds, and asked for more. All around, a winner. Definitely a combo to record so I can remember and make it again. I hate it when I come up with a nice flavor blend and then forget what I did. . .

Easy White Fish Fillets

1 lb. of white fish fillets (I used pollock)  – approximately 4-5 fillets
sea salt
ground black pepper
garlic powder
parsley
1 lemon
2 tablespoons of butter

Preheat oven to 425 degrees. While oven preheats, place butter in a rectangular baking dish (mine was about 8×11, but 9×13 would also work) and place in oven to melt. Set timer for 5 minutes so you don’t have burned butter!

Remove pan with melted butter and tilt to coat entire bottom of pan. Place fillets in pan and salt and pepper; also sprinkle moderately with garlic powder and then lay on the parsley.

Now for the fun trick my sister taught me: place lemon on counter and roll under palm of hand several times to loosen the juices (it will make it much easier to juice!). Then cut in half. Use one half to squeeze lemon juice on the fillets. Slice the remaining half into thin slices (I halved each round) and place decoratively on top of fillets.

Bake in oven for 20-30 minutes, until done. Fillets should be more opaque in appearance than before and flake nicely.


Ready to go in the oven!


Look how much they shrunk! This pan was filled before baking!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    May 04, 2011 @ 07:55:46

    Yum

    Reply

  2. hannahpi
    May 04, 2011 @ 11:53:26

    Oh those look GOOD. I love fish. I really love fish. I could eat it every day and be very happy.

    Reply

  3. hannahpi
    May 04, 2011 @ 18:57:04

    So you got those frozen, right? I guess frozen is the cheapest way to buy fish?

    Reply

  4. susanegk
    May 04, 2011 @ 19:35:22

    Yep, mine were frozen, and I put them frozen straight into the oven. I think usually frozen is cheapest, and like vegetables, often healthier. If you’re going to cook it anyway, it loses freshness very rapidly if not frozen.

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Open Menu for a Friend « Sororal Adventures

Leave a Reply

