Chicken Eggplant Wraps

My friend Mary passed this recipe onto me, at least the recipe that I based my version off of – I changed quite a bit :-). I’d only had eggplant once or twice before, so this was a fun experiment. I’m also hoping to try Ratatouille (another eggplant recipe) soon.

Adrian and I both took a few bites to get used to the flavor and texture of the dish, but we liked it more and with each additional bite, and even ended up having seconds. Hans devoured it! I never know what that kid will love and what he won’t. He is getting tired of soup (lots of soups on GAPS!), so anything that isn’t soup already at least interests him ;-). He pretty much assumes that we will be having soup or squash (or both) at every meal, though that is a bit stretching it ;-).

This was not a quick dish to make, but worth a fun change, and the closest thing to enchiladas I can have right now ;-). . . well, the Italian version of them, anyway. I would consider adding 1/2 cup of white wine to the tomato sauce if I made these again, but it is also good as it is. If I try different things, I’ll update.

Chicken Eggplant Wraps

roll-ups:
2 whole eggplants, sliced lengthwise thinly (1/4″, approximately)
1/4 cup olive oil
1 medium onion, diced
1 green bell pepper, chopped
2 T schmaltz (or other cooking fat)
2 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 tsp. black pepper
1 tsp. salt
2 cups of cooked and diced chicken
sauce:
6 oz. can tomato paste
2 medium tomatoes, peeled and diced
1 1/4 cups water
1/4 cup olive oil
1 garlic clove, minced
1/2 tsp black pepper
1/2 cup diced onion
1 tsp. salt

In a small pot, combine all the sauce ingredients, bring to a boil, and simmer for 20 minutes.

Meanwhile preheat oven to 350 degrees. Brush eggplant slices with olive oil and place flat on 2 cookie sheets in single layer (should just about perfectly cover all). Bake until eggplant slices turn golden brown – 8 or 10 minutes.

Meanwhile, for roll-ups, saute green pepper and onion with schmaltz in a skillet. Add spices, garlic, and chicken and saute until all is warm and incorporated. Let mixture cool some before proceeding.

Thinly coat bottom of a 9×13 glass baking dish with a few spoonfuls of the tomato sauce. Then add the roll-ups: to assemble, take an eggplant slice and place a few tablespoons of filling in the center and roll up. Place seam-side down in dish. Repeat, filling dish with eggplant roll-ups. Then top all with the remaining sauce.  Bake for 15-20 minutes, until bubbly.


Roll-ups ready for sauce.


Out of the oven and enjoyed :-).

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Amy
    May 09, 2011 @ 08:34:50

    Eggplant Rolatini a la Susan! One of my favorite dishes. This looks great. I might add some spinach too, since it is one of my fave veggies in Italuan dishes. Thanks for the recipe.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

