Because every cooking blog needs duplicate recipes. . .

So Hannah already posted what looks to be a fabulous recipe (she sure thought so!) for salmon patties recently. So why would I post another one? Well, first off, it’s just plain fun to try new things. Second, I can’t have lentil flour. Third, I never have green onions on hand, nor was I sure about onion in salmon patties. . . and fourth, a blog I subscribe to posted another recipe, which inspired me to try with almond flour :-). I did some very minor tweaks of her recipe for tonight’s dinner, and we all enjoyed it!

Salmon Patties

14.7 oz. can wild salmon
2 eggs
1/4 cup almond meal
1 tsp basil
1/2 tsp salt
1/8 tsp pepper
1 tbsp lemon juice

In a medium sized mixing bowl (I used my Pyrex 4-cup measure), mix together all ingredients. Heat cast iron skillet and add some sort of cooking oil. I used palm shortening. Coconut oil was suggested in the original recipe, but I save coconut oil for more dessert-y recipes, going for understated palm shortening for this type of task. I used a serving-size spoon to scoop the mixture onto the pan, patting down to 1/4″ thick or so. I got 9 patties from the recipe, and I felt like if I’d made the patties bigger they would have held together well. These were perfect sizes. Cook until lightly brown (3-4 minutes), then flip and cook on the other side. Remove to a plate and enjoy! We had these with lacto-fermented ketchup on top. Yum!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Hannah Garrison
    May 19, 2011 @ 20:00:27

    Oh. LIMA BEANS. -DROOL-
    That looks like just about the best supper ever. Homemade ketchup on top, and you just can’t beat it. Wow. I love salmon patties.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

