Encouragement comes in many forms.

It’s been awhile.  I must say that the past several weeks have had ups and downs, mostly downs in regards to enthusiasm for the diet and spending a lot of time in the kitchen.  Maybe mostly from being around gatherings and parties and baking desserts and just feeling… different.  And worn out.  And weird with my separate foods.  And it’s been hard at times not to succumb and eat even just a little.

It’s also been discouraging looking for answers to my problems and seemingly running down one rabbit trail after another, chasing after one good sounding idea after the next.  Trying doctors again and not finding help.  But finding less money in the bank account nonetheless.

The past few days have found me much more encouraged.  Here are a few reasons, to name a few:

-school year finishing up
-upcoming visit to Seattle next week
-starting SIL courses with Wycliffe in just a couple weeks!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
-watching some good ol’ Gaither Homecoming with mommy and daddy
– finding (I think) some promising answers more pertinent to my specific problems (we’ll see)
-Cookies!

It’s amazing how uplifting cookies can be.  AND how discouraging they can be if one over-indulges.  That’s why I’ve exercised self-control and stopped at cookie number 6 (or 7?).  Ok, I should have stopped at cookie number 3, actually.  But I really WANTED to eat the entire batch.  Cooked or uncooked!

These were very uplifting cookies.  Maybe a little too good since I found them SO very tempting warm out of the oven.  Once completely cooled, they were very good, but not necessarily amazing.  Soft, warm, and slightly gooey after cooling JUST a minute…  they completely held me captive.

Warning – I just kinda threw these together, so the recipe needs tweaked.  And I’m not positive I’m remembering everything I threw in.  Look below for “thoughts for changes.”

PB Banana Cookies!

¾ c raisins
2 eggs
1 t vanilla
1 c almond flour/meal/ground
1 c peanut butter
½ c honey
dash cinnamon
¾ t each baking powder and baking soda (opt for GAPS-approved?)
1 banana, chopped in chunks

Beat 2 eggs with vanilla; add raisins and let sit overnight in fridge.  Purée with immersion blender before adding.
Combine everything.  Chill in the freezer ‘till it will hold shape on the pan (maybe an hour?).  Drop by spoonfulls onto greased cookie sheet.
Bake at 350 for…  10 minutes or so?

And if you’re skeptical about the banana chunks (like a certain long blond-haired sister I have), TRY IT.  WOW it’s good.  Or go for chunks of apple maybe?  But I really like the pockets of gooey sweetness.  Kinda-sorta like the effect I remember chocolate chips having in cookies, back oh-so-very long ago when I had one last.  *sigh*

THOUGHTS FOR CHANGES:

-more raisins, to help firm them up and hold together
-less honey (These were quite sweet, addictingly so.  I kept tasting the raw batter, which isn’t really like me.  But it was SO good.)
-maybe ½ c more almond flour, at least (batter too runny)
-maybe a T or 2 of coconut flour?
-allow plenty of time to freeze before cooking, so it holds shape in oven

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Meg Garrison
    May 25, 2011 @ 18:13:57

    Mmm. 🙂 DeeLISH. 🙂

    Reply

  2. Susan Keister
    May 25, 2011 @ 20:20:09

    Sister-in-law course. . . interesting. Do they help you learn how to deal with that uber-difficult SIL of yours?

    Reply

  3. Susan
    May 26, 2011 @ 14:59:27

    And you inspired me to dig back out the recipe I was working on last week :-). Hans and I tried round 2 of the cookie experiment and it was much better. They actually held their shape (!) and were satisfyingly yummy. I think I’m going to try making them one more time with a tad more honey, to see if I like those better without compromising consistency.

    Reply

  4. hannahpi
    May 26, 2011 @ 15:55:43

    Yay! I’d love to try your recipe. I would like mine to be heftier. Actually, they really reminded me of our healthy oatmeal cookie recipe we used to make a LOT.

    Reply

  5. Ashley
    May 27, 2011 @ 11:43:42

    I grew up with the initials SIL (and the Spanish equivalent ILV), so every time I see “SIL” I think that and have to do a double take if I’m supposed to translate it to sister-in-law. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

