Scallops with Sausage and Apples

(There’s actually more sausage than scallops in this recipe, but “Sausage with Scallops and Apples” didn’t have the right ring to it.)

I’ve been trying to incorporate more seafood into our diet, and a few weeks ago I bought a 1 lb. bag of frozen scallops. Today I finally pulled it out to thaw and decided that we WERE having them for dinner tonight, barring unforseen circumstances. I just didn’t have a foggy clue how to prepare them (minor detail). So I did some googling and discovered that the vast majority of scallop recipes use either bacon or pasta or both, and I certainly can’t have pasta, and sugar-free AND nitrite-free bacon is awfully hard (and $$$) to come by. . . so I was going to have to improvise. A friend on Facebook pointed me to this recipe for scallops, which granted had plenty of GAPS-unfriendly items, but I thought I could at least use it for a springboard, so here is what I made:

 

Scallops with Sausage and Apples

1 lb. sausage (I used a mild homemade turkey sausage)
2 small onions, chopped (or 1 large – this isn’t rocket science)
1 medium apple, chopped (I used Golden delicious)
2 teaspoons dried thyme
1 lb. frozen scallops, thawed
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper

Saute sausage in a large skillet over medium heat. When the sausage is about halfway done, add the onions, followed in a few minutes by the apples (this gives the meat a headstart in cooking – I made up this technique, but I think it does help in making these sorts of preparations). After sausage is cooked through, add thyme and cook and stir to blend flavors. Then add scallops and cook, stirring frequently, just until done, 3-5 minutes. Scallops, so says google, do not like to be overdone, so I was careful to pull the skillet off the heat as soon as the scallops were opaque, and we got a decent texture.

 

I served this along side green peas for me, and Adrian and Hans ate it with peas and baked potatoes. Potatoes probably aren’t a standard paring, but we have potatoes that need eating, and they didn’t complain ;-). All in all, the dish had a nice pleasing flavor, the sausage and the scallops melded well, and the apple was a subtle background flavor, with thyme a bit stronger, but nice. Adrian thinks that that the ratio of scallops to sausage could be increased (this had more sausage than scallops, by volume), but I liked it as is just fine (so did he; just a preference for the other). Next time I might try two bags of scallops per 1 lb. sausage, though, because I do think that would work well.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sarah
    Jun 19, 2011 @ 22:23:38

    That looks delicious. I want some.

    Reply

  2. Bethany
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 20:41:23

    Hi Susan. Bethany from Ivy Creek here (well we actually have moved back to the midwest now). I saw your comment on Joy Lynne’s fb wall regarding yogurt so I had to come see your blog. LOVE IT! I started GAPS last fall and had good results, but fell off the wagon during our move. I still loosely follow it, but I need to start following it more closely again. This looks like a great recipe. I would love the sausage and apple flavors mixed together. I know you are a frugal gal too…do you find you are spending more on food since you are doing GAPS?

    Reply

  3. susanegk
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 21:57:51

    Hi, Bethany! I remember you :-). I am loving GAPS. Except in social situations (I bought a thermos for the main purpose of bringing to social gatherings), but other than that, I really can handle eating this way, and it has really helped my health.

    Yes, unfortunately it is so much more expensive to cook for GAPS. We are spending literally twice as much right now on food as we were before, and that is without going the grassfed-meat route and pastured products exclusively that many GAPS people do. We’ve been working towards cleaner meats and dairy products, but only somewhat, nowhere near all the way, and even then, with fewer grains and a lot more meat and produce and more nuts than usual, it has doubled our grocery bill :-P. I look at it as an alternative to much more expensive medical bills down the road and try to swallow it. The goal is temporary, but yes, it is more expensive!

    Reply

  4. Bethany
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 23:02:26

    Yes, I can’t believe how much we spend on food, but you are right,it is an investment and hopefully only temporary (although I don’t know if I will ever go back to eating many grains). I had a great source for grassfed ground beef in GA…3.99/lb!! Here I can get beautiful 100% pastured eggs for 2.50/dozen…so I eat a LOT of eggs. I am also finding I can eat less because the food is so nourishing. I don’t do much of the GAPS baking with the nut flours. I do have some coconut flour and love those coconut pancakes.

    Reply

  5. susanegk
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 06:54:27

    $3.99 is not bad! I can’t find good beef for less than $6/lb. here, so instead we’ve continued eating “regular” beef and chicken, but eating wild low-mercury seafood 3-4 times a week as a more economical source ($2-5/pound, depending on the type) of clean protein. We eat a lot of eggs here too! We go through 6 dozen per week with only 3 people (Gretchen is too young to count). I try to make about half of those pastured eggs, as I can get them sometimes (limited supply for $4/dozen) from the farm where I get my raw milk and also up the road sometimes (also limited supply, for $3/dozen). We snack on nuts a moderate amount more than bake with it. I do some nut baking, but too many nuts of any type give me a recurrence of symptoms. I find that drinking kombucha before eating nuts helps a lot, though. I can eat limited amounts of coconut flour, but too much isn’t a good thing for me, alas. I know we’d also be spending less if I wasn’t exclusively breastfeeding right now, as my metabolism spikes when nursing, but it’s worth it ;-).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

