In My Kitchen 7-1-2011 (Jar Edition)

I love glass jars. Really love them. I use them for a lot of things. Soups, water, various ferments, leftover vegetables, soaking nuts, you name it. I get too much of a thrill out of finding a new jar (not that I buy them that often). Today I was balancing quite a few things in the kitchen: kombucha, kefir, yogurt, soaking nuts for dehydration, as well as supper, and I was struck by how many jars I was using! (And I was also struck by the fact that I was in short supply of 1/2 gallon sized jars, even though I have a dozen of them!) So here are just a few jar pictures, for anyone else who has the same obsession.


Here we have a 1/2 gallon jar and a gallon jar, both with kombucha cooling to room temperature so I can add the culture. I found the gallon size jar at a thrift store and it made my day :-). It is difficult to find gallon jars locally! This was a sun tea jar, but it didn’t have the spout on the side, unlike most sun tea jars – just the lid on top, which is what I wanted!


Here is more kefir ready to switch out. I’ll scoop the grains off the top of this jar and plop it into a new jar of fresh milk (picked up this morning at the farm!). After I find a clean large-enough jar, that is. . . Hmmm. Yeah, that took some doing :-). I should do a kefir tutorial sometime soon. It is SUPER easy to make. The easiest ferment to do, in my opinion, and very flexible.


And here are a few jars I’m drying, in my attempts to rearrange things to free up some jars! The smaller jars are 1 -1/2 cup jars that I picked up free at a garage sale last summer :-). The back two are a unique shape, just a bit out of the ordinary :-). I love different jars!


Next are a few jars in the cupboard that, alas, were not half-gallon jars ;-). Alas merely because of how much I needed that size today! But I love all my sizes :-). The two taller ones with the white top off to the right are saved from the local raw honey I buy. I love these jars! They are 16 oz. and great for liquids like beverages in smaller quantities (not great for leftover vegetables, though, unlike most jars).


Here is a pound of almonds and a pound of walnuts soaking, waiting for me to dehydrate them. Note the almonds are in a bowl. I had to steal the almond jar for kombucha :-). Hehe. The almonds didn’t seem to mind.


I don’t think I’ve shown my water set-up yet. I call this “El-cheapo Dechlorination Method.” I should patent it. This is the top of my fridge, which always has two half-gallon jars filled with water. Rather than a regular lid, they have screen sprout inserts (purchased here) on top, to allow evaporation. Chlorine takes about 24 hours to evaporate, and we go through about a gallon of water a day for drinking, so we always have one jar on the dining room table for general purpose drinking, and two other jars in rotation on top of the fridge, waiting to be used. I can definitely tell a taste difference!


Finally, here’s the second shelf of my fridge. “Ferment Central.” Kombucha, kefir, yogurt, dilly carrots, sauerkraut, saueruben. Mmmm. I love me some good bacteria :-). I devote this shelf to ferments, and try to cram leftovers and other things into the top shelf to leave plenty of room for bacterial growth :-).

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Mom
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 20:30:58

    You make me laugh. 🙂 And smile. 🙂 And I look forward to meeting all your jars next week. 🙂

    Reply

  2. susanegk
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 20:42:30

    At least I haven’t named them ;-).

    Reply

  3. jessicatelian
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 22:01:10

    I loved this post!

    ~another glass jar freak 🙂

    Reply

  4. Amy & Tony
    Jul 01, 2011 @ 23:59:04

    I actually stuck a peanut butter (glass) jar in the dishwasher today with the idea of giving it to you! Too funny. We have well water and I can really taste the difference when I am drinking processed water. Yuck. I LOVE our well water. It tested out perfectly. Gotta love it.

    Reply

  5. susanegk
    Jul 02, 2011 @ 07:24:39

    I always accept glass jars :-).

    Our water here didn’t used to taste very much at all, then there was a contamination scare a few years ago and we were told to boil our water for a few days while they fixed the problem. A few days later they announced that everything was fine, and our water has had a strong chlorine taste ever since :-P. I think their “solution” has been to permanently dump more chlorine in the system :-P.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

