Dessert for Dinner

Cookies and Ice Cream. Sunday supper :-). Sounds terribly imbalanced, but really not all that bad, nutritionally. The ice cream was 3 cups of kefir mixed with 1/2 cup honey and a bit of vanilla, with chopped up strawberries. Sounds more like health food to me! And I’ve already posted the cookie recipe. Hardly bad for you ;-). If I’d had farm fresh eggs on hand, I would have added a few yolks to the ice cream for added nutrition and texture, but alas, I was out and only had store eggs, which I don’t trust raw.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Amy & Tony
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 19:01:57

    Yummm… I made homemade blueberry ice cream this afternoon. It is in the freezer, firming up a bit more. I used heavy cream, sour cream and a little buttermilk along with sucanat, etc. I know you aren’t doing dairy yet. Bummer. Glad you all had a wonderful, fun dinner tonight!

    Reply

  2. susanegk
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 19:06:56

    I’m on raw, lactose-free dairy, just not most dairy. Kefir cultured for 24 hours or Yogurt cultured for 24 hours both are lactose free, which is nice :-). Your ice cream sounds delicious! Do you like the sucanat in the ice cream? I’d like to try that sometime when I’m back on cane sugar products. Most people online who use natural sweeteners for ice cream use maple syrup as the sweetener of choice, but I’ve wondered if sucanat would also work. . .

    Reply

  3. hannahpi
    Jul 03, 2011 @ 20:04:39

    Ha! Love it. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment