Sound Bites from Independence Day Lunch

Hans: “Ooh, is that a biscuit? This is a biscuit, Mommy, right?”
Me: “No, it’s a hamburger bun. You put a hamburger in it.”
Adrian: “And cheese, you put cheese in it too!”

Hans gave us these skeptical looks to decide if we were pulling his leg or not. “No. You don’t put cheese in it!”

Haha. Oh my poor deprived child ;-). . . it had been last summer (I am pretty sure) since he had a real assembled hamburger. . . (It was a fast food one last summer. Shhhh!) *laughs* He kept saying “This is good!” with his first several bites. Ah, the amusements of going grain-free. . . the kid can identify kombucha and kefir, but doesn’t have a clue how a hamburger is supposed to be consumed. . . He thoroughly enjoyed his hamburger complete with ketchup and cheese product.

Also from lunch. . .

Hans, pointing: “What’s this?”
Me: “That’s American ‘cheese.’ People think it’s food. We’re eating fake food today so we can feel all American. Americans like fake food, and today we’re celebrating America by eating fake food.”
Hans: “Yeah!” (with voice tone of agreement)
I started laughing.
Hans: “You’re funny, Mommy!”
Adrian: “You don’t have to listen to everything your mother says. This is called ‘propoganda’.”

Menu for Independence Day lunch:
Hamburgers
Hamburger topping options: American “cheese,” lettuce, lacto-fermented ketchup, store-bought buns
Sloppy Lentils (similar to baked beans)
Homemade applesauce
Potato chips
Lacto-fermented dilly carrot sticks

We were at home, by ourselves, folks. Otherwise I wouldn’t have been mocking American “food” ;-). I only do that in public when it’s my own food offering I’m mocking (which is why I feel free to blog about it here). And of course I couldn’t eat all of the above. I ate the GAPS-legal stuff and let the hubby and boy indulge in the other items ;-). And now Hans knows how he’s really supposed to eat a hamburger ;-).

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ashley
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 14:12:29

    Hamburgers are my favorite meal! 🙂 I like lean meat, grilled, with cheese and lettuce and a nice bun. Yummy!

    Reply

  2. hannahpi
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 14:49:02

    Ha! Oh, I can so picture this conversation.

    Reply

  3. jessicatelian
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 16:09:52

    LOL!!!! I loved Adrian’s comment about propoganda…

    Reply

  4. Amy & Tony
    Jul 04, 2011 @ 17:04:03

    sometimes you just can’t beat fake food… But I’m with you in that it needs to be for “special occasions” vs regular consumption.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

