In My Kitchen 7-29-2011

Soaking some nuts in the jars, and baked oatmeal (for my boys) in the bowl.

Jars and tomato paste ready to make ketchup. . . but not today. Tomorrow looks hopeful :-). I found a super-easy lacto-fermented ketchup recipe using store-bought (cheater) tomato paste that we all love. I think it was on The Nourished Kitchen blog, as a promo for her fermentation class.

Mmmmm. Crustless quiche based loosely off of this recipe.

I promise I have no idea where the rest of the cake went. This recipe was surprisingly good and not at all bean-y.

*squeal of delight* I have a new egg pan! My old “non-stick” pan was more like a mega-stick pan after a few year’s use, so it was time. I’m leery of the safety of standard non-stick pans (not to mention their durability), but my cast iron pans refuse to cooperate for scrambled eggs. I opted for a Cuisinart pan with a ceramic-based coating. I got this pan.

And my tomato plants are producing tomatoes! I was gone for 2 weeks and my neighbor graciously agreed to water them. Not only did I come back to them still alive, but there were red ones ready to pick and she’d somehow managed to revive my 3rd tomato plant (not pictured) that I’d given up for dead and stopped watering. I need to find out her secret. . .

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jessicatelian
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 18:49:19

    You’ll have to let me know how you like your new pan… I currently only have one frying pan/skillet (my cast iron) and it would be nice to have another frying pan so I can fry/saute/whatever two things at once (novel idea! :)). I could just get another cast iron, but I probably wouldn’t use it much because it wouldn’t be seasoned right away (and if I don’t use it, it won’t really get seasoned! :P)…and I know that Aaron would appreciate having a non-stick type pan for when he wants to scramble eggs and such. 🙂

    Reply

  2. hannahpi
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 19:37:30

    Glad to hear the cake was good!
    I would like it better if I could taste the cake to give it my final approval. Hm.

    Reply

  3. susanegk
    Jul 29, 2011 @ 20:20:02

    We’ll just have to make the cake sometime together, Hannah! It tasted like a cake version of the coconut flour bread, basically. Sweeter, cakier. Nice texture, despite no leavening, due to the whipped egg whites.

    Jessica, my mother-in-law is the one who gave the idea for this type of pan. She has several ceramic-coated frying pans. She has the Wear-Ever brand, which is a tad pricier, and she’s had them for close to 10 years and they look brand new. She says she is very careful in how she washes and uses them, and they’ve done beautifully. In reading Amazon reviews for the brand I got, most love it, and I think those who don’t aren’t properly cleaning the pans. One man comments to the effect, saying his pan started sticking horribly and he realized it wasn’t that the coating was going off, but that the food wasn’t coming off, so he did a thorough but gentle clean/scrub with vinegar and baking soda, and it started working beautifully again. So anyway, I’m hopeful :-). I’ll have to let you know how I like it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

