Open Menu for a Friend

I have a friend who just found out she has food sensitivities to wheat, casein, soy, egg white and yolk, and baker’s yeast. Ugh. Those foods show up in a lot of places! But when she e-mailed me I thought “A fun challenge! Come up with a week menu for her.” (Because I’m weird and find fun in odd things. Yes, I do need to get out more, yadda yadda.)

So here are some ideas for my friend, taking into account her new restrictions. I’ve included one snack option per day as well, because she’s a breastfeeding mama who needs her regular calorie intake, and as such, these are not necessarily low-calorie options! As a breastfeeding mom myself, I usually have more like two snacks per day, but she can always recycle ideas a second time, or finish up leftovers from a previous meal. There are a few specialty items listed which she may or may not be able to get at local stores, so she can always, for example, double up on breakfast suggestions for the week, if she can’t find buckwheat near her.

Day 1:
Breakfast gluten-free rolled oats, made into regular ole oatmeal. Optional soaking the night before.
Topping options: coconut or almond milk, honey, chopped nuts, grated coconut, 1 tablespoon coconut oil (quality fats with high-carb meals help stabilize blood sugar). 
Lunch canned salmon, raisins, and shredded carrots over a lettuce salad, drizzled with olive oil
Snack sliced apple with peanut butter
Dinner Marinated crockpot chicken, green beans, corn

Day 2:
Breakfast grain-free granola (made with coconut oil, not butter) with almond or coconut milk
Lunch southwest quinoa salad
Snack peanut butter “spoon candy” – mix approx. equal parts peanut butter, and coconut oil together in a very small dish, honey to sweeten, and add raisins or shredded coconut for texture. Eat with spoon.
Dinner easy white fish fillets (using coconut oil instead of butter), rice with coconut oil and a sprinkling of salt, steamed broccoli with olive oil salt and pepper

Day 3:
Breakfast fruit smoothie (made with coconut milk)
Lunch cooked and chopped chicken (or canned chicken – but most canned has soy) over a lettuce-based salad, with diced avocado and tomato and sunflower seeds, drizzled with olive oil and lime (or lemon) juice
Snack diced apple in bowl with walnuts and maple syrup (or honey) drizzled over all
Dinner taco skillet dinner! (Fry up a pound of ground beef, add a sliced onion and a few chopped green peppers saute until tender, then add some frozen corn and a can of tomato paste. Season all with taco seasoning.)

Day 4:
Breakfast grain-free Muesli (I mix equal parts nuts, shredded coconut, seeds – sunflower or sesame, raisins) with almond or coconut milk
Lunch creamy chicken soup (subbing coconut oil for butter and using homemade broth or a brand that doesn’t use soy, etc.) 
Snack
sliced banana in bowl, dotted with peanut butter, and honey drizzled over all
Dinner roasted chicken with baked potatoes and green peas

Day 5:
Breakfast sausage served over a baked potato
Lunch nut butter smoothie: blend 1 banana (preferably chopped and frozen) with 1 cup coconut milk and 1/4 cup peanut butter, honey to taste and some vanilla
Snack almonds and raisins (or prunes if you can get them) – one of my favorite and simplest snacks
Dinner bun-less hamburgers spread with ketchup (watch those ingredients! Try your own ketchup: mix together 1 cup tomato paste, 2 T honey, 1 T apple cider vinegar, 1/2 t salt, 1/2 t allspice, a pinch of ground cloves. Mix and thin with more vinegar to proper consistency), oven-fried fries drizzled with olive oil and salt, green leafy salad

Day 6:
Breakfast sliced banana heavily sprinkled with muesli
Lunch chicken chili 
Snack ants on a log! (celery sticks with peanut butter, dotted with raisins)
Dinner beef with tomato and zucchini, with rice served on the side

Day 7:
Breakfast buckwheat porridge (buy whole buckwheat and prepare as for oatmeal but cook longer, as here, though I haven’t tried this precise recipe). See topping suggestions for oatmeal, Day 1.
Lunch Italian black bean salad 
Snack carrot sticks dipped in guacamole (mash avocado with 1-2 minced garlic cloves, salt/pepper, 1-2 T olive oil, 1-2 T lime juice – diced tomato or cilantro optional)
Dinner chicken legs roasted in the oven with sticky chicken seasoning, with diced potato and cubed carrot roasted in the same pan

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. hannahpi
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 05:34:22

    And so now you’re going to cook all that for her too. 😉
    Yummy-sounding menu! I imagine you had too much fun putting that together.

    Reply

  2. Kacie
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 11:38:55

    Susan! I could cry! You are so, so sweet. This menu looks fantastic and it looks really doable!

    I did find another page of my lab reports that fell away from the others, and gluten is on my list of things to avoid. But I think you already accounted for that.

    I am glad to see that rice and quinoa and oats are things I can have. If I had to give up all grains that would be really rough.

    I am going to make my shopping list for this meal plan. You have taken the thinking out of it for me this week — when I really don’t have any spare brain cells to devote to figuring this all out!

    Last night we happened to have chicken in the crockpot anyway and I made stock from the bones last night. I was planning on making split pea soup and I safely can do that, I believe. I use chicken stock in it. Split peas, carrots, an onion, stock…oh and turkey bacon and the package is safe for me (I believe).

    I am now about 30 minutes from Trader Joe’s, but their food choices and prices are worth the drive for me once a month or so. I’ll go and stock up on the smaller cans of salmon (I usually get the 14 oz. ones) and other things I will want.

    Closer to me are a Marsh and Kroger, which do have some things but eh, not my favorite.

    Then there’s a health food store that stocks grass-fed beef and has some bulk foods and whatnots, and lots of supplements.

    I also appreciate that this menu isn’t going to be extremely expensive! Probably what I’m already spending. I’ll keep almond/coconut milk for myself and everyone else can have the much cheaper cow’s milk.

    Reply

  3. susanegk
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 14:32:46

    I’m so glad it’s helpful :-). It really was fun to create. And yes, I decided to go ahead and avoid gluten foods altogether, since you weren’t positive if your intolerance was only wheat, or also gluten. So that worked out well :-). Buckwheat and rice (both grains I used) and quinoa are gluten free. And yep, reasonably priced was one of my aims. When I had intolerances and was going to a naturopath a few years ago, all of her menu ideas were so expensive! Which wasn’t helpful at all. We’re talking $6/meal for some of her ideas! And that’s just not happening. . .

    Reply

  4. susanegk
    Oct 27, 2011 @ 14:34:04

    Oh, and since you do have gluten intolerance, make sure you spend the extra few dollars for certified gluten-free oats, not just regular rolled oats!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

