Asking for Links/Thoughts/Advice on Rice

So I’ll be trying to eat rice in a few weeks, for the first time in a year and a half.

Everyone has a different opinion about rice. It’s one of those interesting grains that, even in the “traditional food preparation” groups, has multiple emphatic theories on the proper way to eat rice.

Now, life is short, and let’s face it: how we prepare rice isn’t really huge in the grand scheme of things. But I have “delicate” intestinal health, so I’m sort of hoping to ease back into rice as gently as possible. And I also have a history in Candida, so I’m trying not to maximize the starch I consume and the blood sugar I spike. I’ve noticed a distinct difference in my ability to digest grains in the past, using soaking techniques, so for me, it’s worth considering possibilities. 

Besides the “Eat whatever you want; we all die anyway. Caring about food is sinful.” mindset *ahem*, as I see it, there are the following main viewpoints on rice: 

(A) Brown rice is better for you. It’s a “whole grain” (unlike evil white rice, which is nutrition less).
(B) Well, actually, brown rice is evil for you, because the bran makes it hard to digest. But white rice is still evil, so eat basmati, because even though it’s white, it’s less evil than regular white.

(I parody.)

Under (A) there are subcategories as follows, as far as I know:
(1) Yes, eat brown rice, but don’t bother to soak it because it’s low in phytates anyway.
(2) Yes, eat brown rice, but do soak it because it’s difficult to digest.

And under (2) there is:
(a) Use typical soak in warm water for 12-24 hours. (Acid? I can’t remember.)
(b) Use an inoculant (like here: http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2010/04/01/phytic-acid-in-rice-reduced-96-with-accelerated-fermentation/
(c) use germination (like here: http://www.kitchenstewardship.com/2010/03/31/germinated-brown-rice-has-the-u-n-finally-heard-nourishing-traditions-wisdom/

Whew! That’s sort of an exhausting set of possibilities!  My head is spinning. Well, not really. . . 

Anyway, up until this point I’ve always just done the quick and easy method of no preparation but also using brown rice, not white or basmati. White rice just makes me feel so over-starched (and my Candida-history does not need that, even if the starched feel is all mental *wink*), and I’ve only used basmati once or twice. I guess I’d have to be convinced it’s really worth the price difference. (Please try to convince me!) My husband and son do absolutely fine with brown rice as I currently make it, but Gretchen doesn’t always *ahem* completely digest it, *ahem* even though she loves the stuff and begs for it. And I really would like to gently reintroduce my own body to rice. 

So. . . that was a really long way of asking for advice. What is your rice philosophy? Don’t care? Brown all the way? Basmati? Do you prep brown rice a certain way? Throw me some links to prove that your way is “best”! I’m all ears!  

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Bethany
    May 21, 2012 @ 21:54:48

    We usually do basmati, but I actually really like the short grain brown rice, so we do mix it up. This has been a helpful blog post on topic; you may have seen it before: http://www.thehealthyhomeeconomist.com/what-white-rice-better-than-brown/

    Reply

  2. Bethany
    May 21, 2012 @ 21:55:25

    By the way, congrats on coming off GAPS!

    Reply

  3. hannahpi
    May 22, 2012 @ 06:34:28

    Eat rice. It’s yummy. ‘Specially with curry and dal. 😀
    That’s my helpful advice.

    Reply

  4. susanegk
    May 22, 2012 @ 15:51:50

    Thanks, Bethany! I’d come across that article several months back, but since lost it :-).

    Reply

Leave a Reply

